Red Hot Chili Peppers Debut Single "The Adventures of Raindance Maggie"

It probably isn't too much of a stretch to call "I'm With You", the upcoming album from the Red Hot Chili Peppers, one of the most highly anticipated albums of the year. It's been a surprising five years since the Chili Peppers released "Stadium Arcadium", and almost as long since we've heard a new single from the group.

Today, the band released "The Adventures of Raindance Maggie", the first single off the new album, and, from my perspective, it's definitely going to satisfy plenty of RHCP fans who have been yearning for new music from the group.

You can listen to the track on the band's official site or download it on iTunes to form your own opinion.

The track is definitely reminiscent of many of the group's recent singles, making use of a mid-tempo beat and relying on lyrics to get their point across. It's also the first song with new guitarist Josh Klinghoffer, who replaces John Frusciante, and while Klinghoffer definitely tries his best to mimic the style of his friend and mentor, and his new bandmates, you can definitely make out a difference. But Klinghoffer is a good musician, and definitely has no trouble meshing with Flee, Chad, and Anthony. Still though, if anything feels like it's missing, it's more than likely on his end.

Still, the song is great, if for no other reason than the fact that it's a new RHCP song.

Lead singer Anthony Kiedis had the following to say about the track in an interview with MTV:


"When I first heard ['Maggie'], I didn't know it would be a single. [But] I knew that I loved the jam," Kiedis explained. "My first recording of that, I don't think it had many vocals on it. It was kind of mostly instrumental, about an hour long. Flea brought it in as a very specific exercise to write a classic bass line. He woke up, had his tea, sat down: 'I'm going to write a classic bass line. You can't stop me.' Played his bass line until he felt it was cooked into a classic, brought it to us and said, 'This is Classic Number One.' On a good day, you just know if there's music to wrestle with and get with, and it was one of those moments."

"I took it home and it felt so fun to listen to at length that I literally left it on in my driveway, opened the door and danced with the tree next to me for quite a while," he said. "I had no idea that it would even be a song, I just thought, 'Oh, this is a great dance track. Let's put it on as a B-side, [an] hour long.' And then, as fate would have it, people heard it, and they were like, 'Oh, that's your best thing right there. That's your best thing.' "

"Maggie" is one of fourteen songs on the upcoming album:

01. Monarchy Of Roses
02. Factory Of Faith
03. Brendan’s Death Song
04. Ethiopia
05. Annie Wants A Baby
06. Look Around
07. The Adventures Of Rain Dance Maggie
08. Did I Let You Know
09. Goodbye Hooray
10. Happiness Loves Company
11. Police Station
12. Even You Brutus?
13. Meet Me At The Corner
14. Dance, Dance, Dance